Cool Pix

June 12, 2008 at 7:37 am (History, Travel)

Maybe it’s my Indiana Jones complex, but when I saw these pictures, I was pretty impressed. Apparently, these come from an early Christian sanctuary just recently rediscovered, a hidden cave underneath a known ruined church in Jordan. The cave may have been a secret meeting place for Christians, during the period when Christianity was still persecuted by the Roman Empire. Later, when Christianity became legal, they would have built the later church on top of the cave, and then forgotten about the original sanctuary.

To see the images on the linked page, scroll down a bit, then use the series of numbers (1-10) to select which picture you want to see. The ones inside the cave, with the shaft of light, are pretty dramatic. Here’s the only thing that I don’t get: There’s clearly a door leading into the cave itself. So, how did they “lose” the cave for centuries? Did everyone forget what was through that door, and no one bothered to check? Or was that door actually buried, as well? I don’t have an answer to that, I’m afraid, but if I get it, I’ll add it here.

Leave a Reply

