Crystal Skulls

May 29, 2008 at 1:37 pm (Dissertation, History, Horror, Movies)

Let me start off by saying that I loved the new Indiana Jones movie. I’ve heard a number of different reviews, good and bad, and as far as I’m concerned, it was absolutely pitch-perfect Indy action and adventure. Of course, archaeologists around the world have been trying to ride Indy’s coattails to the top, with mixed successes. One article that I found very interesting was Archaeology Magazine’s investigation into the actual crystal skulls that inspired the legend that is at the core of the film. It’s a fun read, with some good links. Given my macabre tastes, it shouldn’t surprise either of you that one of my favorite parts of the inset note and photo about the French obsession with skeletal images, either! Now, if only going to see Indiana Jones movies somehow made me work on my dissertation faster…

3 Comments

  1. marystan said,

    Thanks dear. Fakes, all fakes. I do love the French obsession as well and it reminds me of the Dia de los Muertos stuff and all the skull-covered Vans so in vogue these days.

  2. Karma-Doc said,

    Good movie, but his first is still the best. Good luck with the writing.

  3. marystan said,

    So like one other thing is that if you look at the July/August issue of Archaeology, the cover story is about URKESH! There is a picture of Agent Flying Mouse inside. I have not seen the hard copy, but was sent a secret missive from Damascus, “Read all about it!” The shoot was done five years ago and all I can say is, “What shirt am I wearing? I don’t recognize that.” This is why I have no PhD.

Leave a Reply

