Wartime Espionage Is Always Fun

March 10, 2008 at 10:43 am (History, Movies)

Last night, Heather and I watched Black Book, a Dutch film set during the end of WWII. Although I’m the person who put this in our Netflix queue, I actually didn’t really want to see it. I’d heard it was good, I knew it would have some German in it, and I figured, what the heck, let’s pretend we’re cultured. I had no desire to see what I assumed was a tragic period romance/drama of lost love and destroyed dreams.

I couldn’t have been more wrong. Black Book is, admittedly, 1 part period drama and 1 part tragic romance. But it’s also about 8 or 10 parts riveting espionage thriller, with harrowing action and mystery upon mystery, and the acting is truly incredible, to boot. This is not to say that it is an easy movie to watch: It is heartbreaking and heavy. But it is absolutely worth it if you are a fan of the spy thriller, because it will keep you guessing right up until the very end.

Leave a Reply

