Fiddle Sticks

March 5, 2008 at 8:07 pm (Arts, Family, Music)

When asked by people what my fondest dreams are, I list “learning to play the fiddle” right at the top. It’s a bit bizarre, I know, although my being bizarre shouldn’t surprise people anymore. As for why fiddle, as opposed to piano, or guitar, or whatnot, well, I come up with excuses about it being more portable, etc., but that really isn’t it. A number of years ago, while at St. Paul the Apostle over in Westwood, we sang a particular hymn called “The World Is About to Turn.” Now, I’m fairly confident I’d heard that hymn before, but for some reason, on that time, the rather unique tune really caught my attention. Glancing to the top of the page, I saw that the tune was based on an Irish Traditional called “Star of the County Down.” Once I got home, I googled that song until I found a recording of it, and by the second verse, was dead set on learning to play the fiddle, just so that I could play that song.

Well, I’ve got a kid on the way now, and who knows if I’ll find the time in the next ten years or ever to actually pick up the instrument and learn to play. In case I don’t, I thought I’d share with all two readers of my blog that song that captured my heart all those years ago, so that they can at least hear it that way. Who knows? Maybe it will inspire you, too!

2 Comments

  1. marystan said,

    Ah, the Irish Rovers. I grew up on that stuff and why wouldn’t you want to learn the fiddle and play all those celtic airs? So, make your child take fiddle lessons and then you can either live through your children, or go to lessons too!

  2. SMS said,

    A child on the way is all the more reason to play – more than you can even imagine – YOUR “world is about to turn” (Canticle of the Turning/R.Cooney). What a hymn of waiting and moving forward…read “writing dissertations” and preparing the heart and home for a nursery….”My soul cries out with a joyful shout that the God of my heart is great, and my spirit sings of the wondrous things that you bring to those who wait. You fixed your sight on your servant’s plight, and my weakness you did not spurn, so from east to west shall my name be blest. Could the world be about to turn?”

Leave a Reply

