Dissertation Thoughts

January 26, 2007 at 6:17 pm (Dissertation)

Okay, so it’s almost the end of January and I haven’t put together my proposal. I need to get on that! The proposal will essentially be an outline of the dissertation. I’ll start with a brief description, outline my chapter structure, then tell them the present state of the research and finally outline the next year and a half during which I plan on writing it. I’ll need to do more research, esp. in the literature area, but that’s okay, hopefully I can get by without too much of that.

What is the importance of divine barges? How do we think that they were used in Mesopotamia? I’ll need to dig back to the earliest research to find out how the current understanding of them developed. So, one of my tasks for this weekend is to dig into the literature that is available to me and try to find the “Ur”-references.

The first part of it will be historical records dealing with divine barges, specifically administrative texts. However, to make sense of those texts, I’ll need to branch out into texts dealing with boats in general. One part of this will require me to make at least a partial edition of TCL 6036, and I might as well make a whole one and put it up on the CDLI wiki. That will be an important part of the “current state of the research.” I’ll also have to work on that this weekend.

Relevant Literary Texts:

  • Sumerian:
    • Gilgamesh, Enkidu and the Netherworld
    • Inanna and Enki
    • Inanna and Ebih?
    • Adam’s Hymn to the Abzu
    • Hymn to Enki
    • Atrahasis?
  • Akkadian
    • Adapa
    • Gilgamesh
  • Greek
    • The Odyssey
Leave a Reply

