Exploring the Unknown…

January 23, 2007 at 8:16 pm (Dissertation, Horror, Travel)

I was discussing my dissertation with Kate and Adam after class today, and Adam mentioned that he had a hymn to the Abzu that mentioned ma2-gur8. Naturally, I asked for a copy, but this caused Kate to ask my if my dissertation was cosmological in nature (that is, why my interest in the Abzu and the Kur?). I responded that my interest was, to an extent, in exploring the unknown, whether by sailing to a foreign land or by traveling between the worlds, and boats (esp. the divine barges) were an instrument of both of those. She then pointed out that, in Inanna and Ebih, the kurngala may be the same as the kurngala from GEN, which have the ability to travel between the world of the living and the world of the dead, and that I’ll want to look into that for the dissertation, as well.

Leave a Reply

