My Christmas List

November 13, 2006 at 8:02 pm (Uncategorized)

I feel vaguely dirty, having just made some grand post about leaping headlong into the Web 2.0 as a responsible digital citizen, only to have my next post be a Christmas list. However, hiding behind that old standby that “technology is supposed to make our lives easier,” not “technology is supposed to make us feel guilty,” I’m going to take the risk. For those of you who ask why I’m not just creating a “wish list” on Amazon.com, it’s because I don’t want people to feel that they need to buy from Amazon. I AM including an Amazon link for a lot of items, so that you can see what they look like, but feel free to buy locally. For those of you asking how you know what someone else has decided to buy, I’ve thought of that, too: Post a comment to the blog entry identifying what you’re going to get. That way, when people come to the blog, they can FIRST look at the list, then SECOND look at the comments to see what people are already getting. I promise, I won’t peek! Actually, I probably WILL peek, since if you needed to ask me what I wanted in the first place, I’d know what you were going to get me anyway. So, once you’ve posted a comment that you’re going to get me something, I’ll remove it from the list (to cut down on confusion). So, make sure that you post a comment saying what you’re going to get me if you’re going to get me something off of this list!

  • Vacu-vin wine stopper system – I’ve been drinking more wine lately, but hate feeling compelled to finish a bottle, lest it go bad. This little dohickey promises to keep a bottle fresh for about a week, and sounds like the perfect solution for me.
  • A nice bottle of wine – I’d post a list of “acceptable” bottles here, but (as I’ve discovered since I started reading Wine Spectator) there’s absolutely no way of knowing what recommended bottles can be found in what stores. So, instead I’ll give you some “guidelines”: I happen to like (or am interested in discovering) Australian Shiraz, any German or Austrian whites, white wines from the Alsace region of France, a Bordeux that I can actually drink now (as opposed to one that will need to age 20 years; talk to your local wine store if you don’t understand that!), Spanish wines, Port (it doesn’t need to actually be Portuguese) and Greek wines. I come from a school of thought that says that you really shouldn’t spend more than $25 on a bottle of wine (and can often get away for less than $10!), so let that be a rough guide. Your local wine merchant should have a good selection and recommendations, and you can always count on Cost Plus World Market to have an excellent selection with very good values and extra info on the wines.
  • Books of Ghost Stories – As some of you know, I looooove a good book of classic, spooky Victorian ghost stories or local legends. With that in mind, a couple of books that I’d love to have are Edgar Allen Poe’s Complete Tales & Poems and Great Ghost Stories.
  • Gift Certificates – I know that this is cheating, but if you can’t find anything else, feel free to get me a gift certificate to Amazon.com, Williams-Sonoma or REI.

I’ll add more items as I think of them, but that’s a start for you responsible people. Let me know if you have any questions!

Leave a Reply

